Simulation-Based Complexity Management


Complexity is the defining signature of today's world - and it will continue to increase. Complexity and volatility are constant companions of decision makers in business and politics, they are found in all major areas of life and determine the most pressing questions about the relationships, the networks and the dynamics - both in the areas of environment, ecology and technology, with its large-scale systems as well as in economics, politics, society and information technology. The challenges that we face in successful management of change in business and politics must require a change in awareness of major proportion. Concerning the potential of the accompanying new mind-set, holistic thinking, the quantum physicist and complexity researcher Heinz Pagels has made the following prediction: „I am convinced that the nations and people who master the new sciences of complexity will become the economic, cultural, and political superpowers of the next century.“

Therefore, a new level of complexity in business requires a complete new perception of the world. SAT Strategic Advisors for Transformation GmbH has developed a methodology at the holistic level that allows optimization and decision support in an even more unprecedented degree of coverage along the entire value chain. Our methodology of Simulation-based Complexity Management integrates advanced simulation and optimization methods for the integrated modeling and optimization of all types of complex-dynamic systems, whether they be global value networks, health systems or energy-relevant coupling between economy and ecology.

next_gen_toolbox

With our methodology, Simulation-based Complexity Management, it is possible to integrate, for example, market and strategy models (with System Dynamics and Agent-based Simulation) with the factory and global supply chain level (Process Simulation), which also can be optimized with focus on minimizing the variable cost, or maximizing the profit (Local Search, Mathematical Programming, etc.).

Typical application areas for Simulation- based Complexity Management

Today, typical application areas for Simulation-based Complexity Management include, for example:

  • Comprehensive Strategic Planning
  • Risk Management for Finance and Insurance
  • Cost modeling and cash flow optimization
  • Major project planning and innovation planning
  • Supply chain optimization at the national, international and global level with the objective function of maximizing the overall contribution margin (Which product should be produced where to maximise profit?)
  • Portfolio and Asset Optimization
  • Network optimization for renewable energies
  • Market modeling and evaluation of alternative strategies including competitor and customer behavior

Advantages of Management Flight Simulators

Simulation models that are based on the methodology of Simulation-based Complexity Management have the following advantages for Executive Management in dynamic future markets:

  • Holistic capture and transparent presentation of highly complex decision situations in the strategy area
  • Avoidance of tacit misunderstandings by disclosing the different perceptions of different decision-makers
  • Development and simulation of business scenarios, customers and competitors to make uncertainty about the future tangible
  • Identification of the levers for value-enhancing corporate governance in the face of high uncertainty and risks
  • Modeling of alternative strategies and testing by simulation before they are implemented in the business
  • Evaluation of sustainable and robust business strategies in the context of new products and innovation, and in global competitive situations
  • Implementation of early-warning systems to monitor market changes, market position, strategic decisions and operational actions in real time
  • Comprehensive business and earnings management, based on the current most powerful simulation and optimization methods
logo_unten

Simulationsgestütztes Komplexitäts-Management

Komplexität ist die prägende Signatur der heutigen Welt – und sie wird weiter zunehmen. Komplexität und Volatilität sind die ständigen Begleiter von Entscheidungsträgern in Unternehmen und Politik, sie finden sich in allen wichtigen Lebensbereichen und bestimmen die immer dringenderen Fragen nach den Zusammenhängen, den Vernetzungen und der Dynamik – sowohl in den Bereichen der Umwelt, Ökologie und Technik mit ihren Großsystemen als auch in der Ökonomie, der Politik, in der Gesellschaft und Informationstechnologie. Die Herausforderungen, denen man sich für ein erfolgreiches Management des Wandels in Wirtschaft und Politik stellen muss, bedingen eine Bewusstseinsänderung größten Ausmaßes. Was die Konsequenzen eines damit einhergehenden neuen Denkens, des holistischen Denkens, betrifft, hat der Quantenphysiker und Komplexitätsforscher Heinz Pagels wie folgt charakterisiert: „Ich bin überzeugt, dass diejenigen Nationen und Menschen, die sich die neue Wissenschaft der Komplexität zu eigen machen werden, zu den ökonomischen, kulturellen und politischen Supermächten des nächsten Jahrhunderts aufsteigen werden.“

Eine neue Ebene von Komplexität im Business bedarf also einer vollkommen neuen Sichtweise der Welt. Die SAT Strategic Advisors for Transformation GmbH hat dafür eine Methodik entwickelt, die auf der ganzheitlichen Ebene, d.h. über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette hinweg, Optimierungen und Entscheidungsunterstützung zulässt in einem noch nicht dagewesenen Umfang. Unsere Methodik Simulationsgestütztes Komplexitäts-Management integriert dabei modernste Simulations- und Optimierungsverfahren für die ganzheitliche Modellierung und Optimierung jeder Art von komplex-dynamischer Systeme, seien es zum Beispiel globale Wertschöpfungsnetzwerke, Gesundheits­systeme oder die energierelevante Kopplung von Ökonomie und Ökologie.

next_gen_toolbox

Mit unserer Methodik Simulationsgestütztes Komplexitäts-Management lassen sich zum Beispiel Markt- und Strategiemodelle (mit System Dynamics oder Agenten-basierter Simulation) mit der Fabrik- bzw. globalen Supply Chain Ebene (Prozess-Simulation) integrieren, die ihrerseits in Hinblick auf die Minimierung der variablen Kosten oder der Maximierung des Deckungsbeitrages optimiert werden kann (Local Search etc.).

Typische Anwendungsfelder des Simulationsgestützten Komplexitäts-Managements

Zu den typischen Anwendungsfeldern des Simulationsgestützten Komplexitäts-Managements gehören heute zum Beispiel:

  • Ganzheitliche Strategische Planung
  • Risiko-Management für Finanzwesen und Versicherungen
  • Kostenmodellierung und Cash Flow Optimierung
  • Großprojekt- und Innovationsplanung
  • Supply Chain Optimierung auf nationaler, internationaler und globaler Ebene
    mit Zielfunktion der Maximierung des Deckungsbeitrages
    (Wo wird welches Produkt am kostengünstigsten produziert?)
  • Portfolio und Asset Optimierung
  • Netzwerkoptimierung bei erneuerbare Energien
  • Marktmodellierung und Bewertung alternativer Strategien inklusive Wettbewerber- und Kundenverhalten

Vorteile von Management Flug Simulatoren

Simulationsmodelle, die auf der Methodik von Simulationsgestütztem Komplexitäts-Management gründen, geben dem Executive Management in den sich dynamisierenden Märkten der Zukunft folgende Vorteile in die Hand:

  • hochkomplexe Entscheidungssituationen im Strategiebereich ganzheitlich erfassen und transparent darstellen
  • unterschiedliche Vorstellungen verschiedener Entscheider offenlegen und Missverständnisse vermeiden
  • Markt-, Wettbewerbs-, Kunden- und Supply Chain-Szenarien entwickeln und simulieren, um die Unsicherheit über die Zukunft greifbar zu machen
  • Identifizierung der Stellhebel zur wertsteigernden Unternehmensführung angesichts hoher Unsicherheit und Risiken
  • Strategiealternativen modellieren und per Simulation testen, bevor sie umgesetzt werden
  • Bewertung von nachhaltigen und robusten Unternehmensstrategien im Kontext von Innovation und neuen Produkten, und diese in globalen Wettbewerbssituationen
  • Implementierung eines Frühwarnsystems, um Marktveränderungen, Marktposition, strategische Entscheidungen und operative Maßnahmen in Echtzeit zu überwachen
  • Ganzheitliche Unternehmens- und Ergebnissteuerung auf der Basis der zur Zeit mächtigsten Simulations- und Optimierungsmethoden

 

logo_unten